Connect with Adolescent
Close%20button 2

Ophiuchus: The 13th Zodiac Sign

Nov. 29, 2016
Avatar kat pic.jpg0df38a92 ac33 47fa b06a d498c8563fe6

Don’t panic, but everything you once knew, that feeling of personal clarity and belongingness, has now changed. On September 27th NASA announced the discovery of the 13th zodiac sign, throwing the nation into a zodiac frenzy. 

Ophiuchus, which includes birthdays from November 29th to December 17th, has split the Scorpio and Sagittarius months and created a domain of its own. Not only has it split the two months, but it has also shifted the dates of the 12 other zodiac signs. 

This 13th sign is actually only new news to us. In the 1970’s astrologers had discovered it, but felt that only 12 signs were necessary. Ophiuchus, meaning Serpent-bearer, is the first zodiac sign that is based on an actual human being.  

The Greeks identified the Ophiuchus sign as Asclepius, God of medicine. Asclepius was the son of Apollo, whose father was Zeus, and Coronis, a mortal woman. While pregnant, Coronis cheated on Apollo. In a fit of rage, Apollo shot Coronis with an arrow and took the baby from her womb. He took his child to Chiron, a wise centaur, who raised the child as his own and taught him the art of healing and hunting.  Asclepius became so talented that he could even raise people from the dead. Hades, God of the Underworld, became concerned about Asclepius’s talents and begged Zeus to kill him. Zeus honored his request and struck him down with a thunderbolt. Apollo was devastated, in an attempt to make amends, Zeus made Asclepius immortal and set him amongst the stars, creating the constellation Ophiuchus. 

Those who are an Ophiuchus contain both Sagittarius and Scorpio traits. Ophiuchuses are very desirable and feel that they are destined for greatness. They are passionate and progressive people who rebel against authority and dominate in every situation. They possess the magnetism of the Scorpio and the wisdom of the Sagittarius. 

Some of the key traits of this new zodiac sign include:

  • Wise
  • Rebellious 
  • Trustworthy 
  • Honest
  • Passionate
  • Sexual Magnetism 
  • A Seeker of Peace
  • Natural Leaders and Healers
  • Powerful
  • Have penetrating eyes
  • Jealous 
  • Secretive 
  • Violent temper
  • Sarcastic
  • Require Praise
  • Judgmental 
  • Restless
  • Procrastinator
  • Defensive
  • Irresponsible 

Prepare yourselves, here are the news dates for our 13 zodiac signs:

Aries: April 18 – May 13

Taurus: May 13 – June 21

Gemini: June 21 – July 20

Cancer: July 20 – August 10

Leo: August 10 – September 16

Virgo: September 16 – October 30

Libra: October 30 – November 23

Scorpio: November 23 – November 29

Ophiuchus: November 29 – December 17

Sagittarius: December 17 – January 20

Capricorn: January 20 - February 16

Aquarius: February 16 – March 11

Pisces: March 11 – April 18

Cover Image via ShutterStock